Board of Governors

Determines the Foundation's policy and is responsible for its budget and accounts.


The King Baudouin Foundation’s Board of Governors defines the guidelines for the Foundation’s policy. It also assumes final responsibility for the budget and accounts.


The Board of Governors has a Chair, two Vice-Chairs and a maximum of 12 Board Members, including the Managing Director.


Thomas Leysen

Chairman of Mediahuis, Chairman of Umicore


Pierre Wunsch

Governor of the National Bank of Belgium

Karl-Heinz Lambertz

President of the Parliament of the German-speaking Community

Managing Director

Baron Luc Tayart de Borms


Jean-Pol Boone

Digital and e-commerce Entrepreneur, Digital & ICT Investment Officer at Be Angels, Investment Committee Member at W.IN.G by Digital Wallonia

Laurence Bovy

Executive Director of Vivaqua

Hélène Casman

Emeritus Professor of Law, VUB and ULB, Honorary Notary

Lieze Cloots

Head of the International Policy Unit, OVAM

Jean Hilgers

Director of the National Bank of Belgium

Vincent Houssiau

Head of Cabinet to His Majesty the King

Yasmine Kherbache

Judge at the Constitutional Court

David O'Sullivan

Chair of the Board of the European Policy Centre, Principal Advisor Steptoe and Johnson LLP

Marleen Vanderpoorten

former Flemish Minister of Education, honorary President of the Flemish Parliament, former Alderman of the city of Lier


New members to the Board of Governors are elected by a two-thirds majority by sitting Governors or their representatives. Each mandate is for four years and may be renewed once. The upper age limit to exercise a mandate as governor is 70.

The Governors elect a Chair and two Vice-Chairs from the Board Members. The Chair is appointed for a term of two years, a mandate that may be renewed once.

The Board of Governors acts by majority vote.